RESOLUTION NO. 2022-042

A RESOLUTION CANVASSING THE ELECTION RETURNS FOR THE CITY OF TEXAS CITY'S GENERAL ELECTION HELD ON SATURDAY, MAY 7, 2022; AND PROVIDING THAT THIS RESOLUTION SHALL BECOME EFFECTIVE FROM AND AFTER ITS PASSAGE AND ADOPTION.

WHEREAS, on the 18 th day of May 2022, the City Commission of the City of Texas City, Texas, convened in a Special City Commission Meeting at the Charles T. Doyle Convention Center, with the following members present, to wit:

Dedrick D. Johnson, Mayor Thelma Bowie, City Commissioner At-Large Keith Henry, City Commissioner District 1 Felix Herrera, City Commissioner District 2 Dorthea Jones Pointer, City Commissioner District 3 Jami Clark, City Commissioner District 4

constituting a quorum, and among other proceedings were the following:

Jami Clark, Commissioner District 4, introduced a resolution and order and moved its adoption. This motion was seconded by Dorthea Jones Pointer, Commissioner District 4, and the motion carried with it the adoption and order prevailed by the following vote:

Ayes: 6 Nays: 0

THE RESOLUTION IS AS FOLLOWS:

FOR CITY:

A MAYOR AND SIX COMMISSIONERS, EACH TO SERVE FOR A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS.

WHEREAS, there came to be considered the returns of the general election held on the 7th day of May 2022, for the purpose of electing a Mayor and six Commissioners, each to serve for a period of two years, hereinafter named officials, and it appears from said returns, duly and legally made, that there were 2,729 cast votes at said election; 2,227 valid and legal votes were counted; cumulative and precinct reports are attached hereto as **Exhibit "A"**, and that each of the candidates in said election received the following votes:

Mayor Number of Votes

Dedrick Johnson, Sr. (Unopposed), 227

Commissioner At-Large	Number of Votes
Thelma Bowie	1,625
Abel Garza, Jr.	1,251
Mark Salinas	358
Kevin Yackly	598

Commissioner District 1	Number of Votes
DeAndre' Knoxson	306
Earl (Ken) Alexander	217

Gilbert Robinson 289

Commissioner District 2 Number of Votes

Felix Herrera (Unopposed) 571

Commissioner District 3 Number of Votes

Dorthea Jones Pointer (Unopposed) 185

Commissioner District 4 Number of Votes

Henry Gomez 158 Jami Clark 623

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF TEXAS CITY, TEXAS:

<u>SECTION 1</u>: That said election was duly called, that notice of said election was given in accordance with law that said election was held in accordance with law, and that the following seven (7) persons were elected to the City Commission of the City of Texas City:

Dedrick D. Johnson, Sr., Mayor Thelma Bowie, Commissioner At-Large Abel Garza, Jr., Commissioner At-Large DeAndre' Knoxson, Commissioner District 1 Felix Herrera, Commissioner District 2

Dorthea Jones Pointer, Commissioner District 3

Jami Clark, Commissioner District 4

SECTION 2: That said above-named parties are hereby declared duly elected to said respective offices, subject to the taking of their oaths of office as provided by the laws of the State of Texas.

SECTION 3: That it is further found and determined that, in accordance with the order of this governing body, the City Secretary posted written notice of the date, place, and subject of this meeting on the bulletin board located in City Hall, a place convenient to the public, and said notice, having been so posted, remained posted continuously for at least seventy-two (72.0) hours preceding the date of this meeting.

SECTION 4: That this Resolution shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage and adoption.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 18th day of May 2022.

Dedrick D. Johnson, Mayor

City of Texas City, Texas

ATTEST:

Rhomari D. Leigh

City Secretary

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Kyle L. Dickson City Attorney

CANVASS OF GENERAL ELECTION

I, Rhomari Leigh, City Secretary of the City of Texas City, Texas, met with the City Commission sitting as the Canvassing Board to canvass the General Election of May 7, 2022, on May 18, 2022, at the Charles T. Doyle Convention Center located at 2010 5th Avenue North, Texas City, Texas.

I certify that the figures on the tally sheets correspond with the figures on the returns.

Witness my hand this 17th day of November 2020.

Presiding Officer of Canvassing Authority

SUMMARY OF DISTRICT RETURNS

I, the undersigned, the presiding officer of the canvassing authority for the Texas City General Election, held on the 18th day of May 2022, Galveston County, Texas, do hereby certify that the following is a total of all votes received by each candidate as shown by the district returns. I further certify that the following vote totals include early voting votes received under Section 87.1231 of the Texas Election Code.

Mayor Dedrick Johnson, Sr. (Unopposed)	Number of Votes 2,227	Percentage 100.00%
Commissioner At-Large	Number of Votes	Percentage
Thelma Bowie	1,625	42.41%
Abel Garza, Jr.	1,251	32.65%
Mark Salinas	358	9.3%
Kevin Yackly	598	15.61%
Commissioner District 1	Number of Votes	Percentage
DeAndre' Knoxson	306	37.68%
Earl (Ken) Alexander	217	26.72%
Gilbert Robinson	289	35.59%
Commissioner District 2	Number of Votes	Percentage
Felix Herrera (Unopposed)	571	100.00%
Commissioner District 3	Number of Votes	Percentage
Dorthea Jones Unopposed	185	100.00%
Commissioner District 4	Number of Votes	Percentage
Henry Gomez	158	20.23%
Jami Clark	623	79.77%

DATED this 18th day of May 2022

Presiding Officer of Canvassing Authority